For a few days I had the idea of creating a high protein Trifle. I’d picked up a pack of Hartley’s sugar free jelly which was only 9kcal a portion. It tasted nice so the idea of Trifle was floating around my head. Most evenings I make a protein mug cake for dessert. It’s quick, slightly sickly, and the macros are good. I figured that if I chopped up a mug cake, that could be the sponge. I had some frozen summer fruits in the freezer so they would do for the fruit.


I was a bit usure about the custard. I could have used low fat Ambrosia, but remembered I had a stash of a Muscle Mousse banana flavour in the cupboard. If I didn’t have muscle mousse I would have tried mixing banana/vanilla whey protein with water and gelatine powder as that will set like the mousse does. MyProtein make a very nice ‘Apple crumble and Custard’ flavour whey which would have well suited the Trifle as an alternative.

Then finally: The topping. I absolutely love Quark. It tastes just like a thick Greek yogurt, but is classed as a soft cheese. You can find it in most supermarkets in the UK, but if you can’t get hold of it, Total 0% would work or some Light Spray cream would do the job, but make sure you put spray cream on top right before you serve it or it won’t look very impressive!

This Trifle is probably my favourite sweet protein experiment to date. Even better than my baked cheesecakes! The macros are awesome and it tastes just like your usual Trifle. It did take quite a lot of time (mostly waiting for things to set) but it was oh so worth it and probably no more work than your usual Trifle. I loved it, but as an extra test I gave one to my other half. He doesn’t eat for macros or high protein food and he said it tasted lovely and just like a normal Trifle. So I’m calling that a big success! My only criticism is that I think it’d be best to half the recipe and just make 2 at a time as they will probably only keep for a couple of days… or I suppose you could eat them all at once, lol!


Cass’ High Protein Trifle

Serves: 4
Macros per serving: 157kcal, 27P, 9C, 2F

Ingredients:
The Base
Pack of Hartleys sugar-free strawberry jelly (to make 1 pint)
Tin of Fruit cocktail, frozen summer fruits, etc. (I used 50g frozen summer fruits, but feel free to use as much or little fruit as you like)
1 egg white
25g vanilla or birthday cake whey protein powder
30ml unsweetened almond milk (or other milk)
1/2 tsp baking powder

The “custard”
75g banana muscle mousse
150ml Unsweetened Almond milk (or other milk, or just water)
75ml water

The Topping
250g Quark
2-3tsp granulated sweetener
Seeds from 1/2 a vanilla pod
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
Cake sprinkles

Method
The Base
1. Make the sponge for the base by creating a Protein mug cake: In a mug mix 25g whey, baking powder, almond milk and egg white. Whisk to mix well. Microwave at 500W for 2-3 minutes. Keep an eye on it and stop the microwave when you see the cake reach the top of the mug. I usually do my mug cakes for 45 seconds at 800W, however, I wanted a slower bake so that the cake wasn’t too wet.
2. Leave the mug to cool and then turn the cake out. Chop the cake up into squares or strips and distribute them between the four containers.
3. Scatter the fruit on the base of the container.
4. Mix up the jelly according to the packet instructions to make 1 pint. Pour the jelly into the containers.
5. Pop the containers in the fridge and leave overnight for the jelly to set.

The “Custard”
1. Mix up the muscle mousse according to the packet instructions. The instructions say to use water, however, I always add some milk because I think it tastes better. So rather than using 225ml water to make up the 75g, I use 150ml almond milk and 75ml water.
2. Pour the custard on top of the set jelly.
3. Leave in the fridge to set for half an hour to an hour.

The topping
1. Once your custard has set, mix the quark with an electric whisk (or you could use a hand whisk) and add your sweetener, vanilla extract and vanilla pod seeds.
2. Divide the whisked quark amongst the trifles to create the topping. Use a spoon or small hand whisk to fluff the top of the trifles.
3. Go crazy with the cake sprinkles to finish! 🙂

Leave a comment