High Protein (Unbaked) Cheesecake

Take One:

Following on from my Cheesecake success, I thought I would try my hand at creating a Banoffee version and a Chocolate Peanut Butter version. To get the flavors in, however, I’d have to add protein powder. My first attempt at this was shocking. I made the cheesecakes just as I had the previous two, popped them in the oven and then removed them to find two Yorkshire-pudding-esque creations. “Why did I put them in the oven?” I thought to myself. The addition of the protein powder really didn’t work with a baked cheesecake. I topped them and tried them both. The flavors were OK, but the textures were all wrong. They were very chewy and dry.

Take Two:


With my head properly screwed on I recreated the cheesecake abominations the way I should have done in the first place. As they weren’t being baked, I needed something the ensure the quark would set so that the cheesecakes could be removed from their moulds. I swapped the 1/2 egg (for the baked ones) for 2g powdered gelatin mixed with a little water (as per packet instructions) and mixed this with the Quark and 15g protein powder (MyProtein Banoffee and MyProtein Chocolate Brownie although standard Banana or Chocolate would do as an alternative. Also, you could skip the gelatin and use Banana and Chocolate Muscle Mousse). You could also add 1tbsp PB2 to the Chocolate powder to give it more of a peanutty taste.

I mixed everything up, this time using MuscleFood Chocolate + Hazelnut flavored biscuits for the base rather than the Forest Fruit ones, and left it overnight to set in the fridge. I was very pleased when the cheesecakes were easily removed from their moulds and didn’t lose their shape. I topped the banoffee one with a few slices of fresh banana, a pecan nut and some shavings of high protein chocolate. The Chocolate PB one was topped with about 1tbsp PB2 mixed with water, some crushed peanuts and high protein chocolate shavings.

img_3415

The Baked berry high protein cheesecake from my previous experiment is definitely the winner in taste followed by the peanut butter, then banoffee and finally the tropical one. However, all of them were great high protein treats and great successes!


High Protein (Unbaked) Cheesecake

Ingredients:
Base
2x MF High Protein Biscuits (Or other biscuits, but the macros will be different)
1tsp semi-skimmed milk (or Almond milk, Coconut milk, etc.)
5 sprays Groovy Food Coconut oil
Filling
100g Quark
2g powdered gelatin mixed with hot water (as per packet instructions)
15g Protein Powder (flavor of choice)

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 160C (fan assisted). Crush the biscuits with a rolling pin and add to the bowl with the milk and Coconut oil. Mix well, then add to the tin pressing down well. Pop in the oven for 5 minutes.
2. While the base is in the oven, mix the quark with the powdered gelatin/water and protein powder using a hand whisk.
3. When the biscuit base has been removed from the oven, add the quark mixture on top and level out.
4. Place in the fridge overnight or for 6-8 hours.
5. Remove from the tin when chilled and add your topping of choice.

Macros:
(Not counting the topping)
Calories: 211kcal
Protein: 30g
Carbs: 11g
Fat: 6g

Save

Leave a comment