Protein Chickpea Carrot Cake

My other half was making a carrot cake for afternoon tea at my parent’s house. I love carrot cake so I eagerly popped all of the ingredients from the recipe into MyFitnessPal in the hope that I would be able to fit a slice in to my macros. The verdict: Per slice it was 662kcal, 8P, 57C, 31F. That’ll be a no then!!! Lol!

My chickpea cake recipe was a success as a vanilla cake and a bread so I thought I’d add some things from his recipe to my recipe and adapt it to create a healthy protein carrot cake. To try and make this even better, the carrots for the cake were home grown from my garden and had the most lovely sweet taste to them. I kept my fingers crossed and mixed everything together…

…Baked it for half an hour and sliced it…


… Then finally iced it…

img_8519

Next was the moment of truth. It looked good, but how did it taste??? I cut a slice and WOW! It was incredible!!! The cake was moist and sweet with a lovely texture. Extra sweet notes came from the raisins and a nice crunch came from the walnuts. The spices were just right too. It would be even better with double the walnuts and raisins, but that does affect the calories and macros quite a bit. I really think that if you gave a slice of this to someone and they didn’t know it was a bit “special” then they wouldn’t have a clue!

img_8528

EDIT: 02-10-17 – I repeated this recipe and did mostly the same thing as before, however this time around I sweated the grated carrots, spices and raisins in a pan with splashes of water (adding water as it evaporated, etc.) to first soften the carrots and help infuse the spicy flavors. This enhanced the flavor and texture so I’ve amended the recipe below to incorporate this slight change.

So, without further ado… Here’s my recipe:

Protein Chickpea Carrot Cake Recipe

Serves: 8 slices

Ingredients:
Cake
1 tin chickpeas, drained, rinsed
75g vanilla whey protein powder
40g egg white powder (I use MyProtein Egg White Powder)
120ml water
4 egg whites
150g finely grated carrots
25g Coconut flour
100g 0% Greek Yogurt
50g Raisins
25g chopped walnuts
1.5tsp Baking Powder
0.5tsp (heaped) bicarb of Soda
1tsp Ground Cinnamon
0.5tsp freshly grated Nutmeg
1tsp mixed spice
A pinch of salt

Topping
180g (1 tub) Philadelphia Lightest cream cheese
Marzipan carrots (or other decoration!)
25g (8) whole walnuts
The zest of 1 lemon
~2 Tbsp Canderel (or any other finely powdered sweetener)

Method:
1. Preheat the oven to 160C (fan assisted)
2. Set a frying pan on a low heat and fry the grated carrots with the raisins, cinnamon, nutmeg and mixed spice. Add splashes of water to help keep the mixture moist and fry until the carrots are soft and spiced.
3. Blend the chickpeas with the water and egg whites
4. Add to a bowl with the rest of the ingredients and mix well with a hand whisk.
5. Grease a cake tin and add the mixture. Bake in the centre of the oven for 30 minutes.
6. Leave the cake to cool and mix together the Philadelphia, lemon zest and sweetener.
7. Slice the cake in half and spread a thin layer through the middle. On top of the cake spread the remaining topping using a palette knife then add the walnuts and Marzipan carrots/decorations.

Macros per slice: 187kcal, 20.4P, 15.1C, 5F
Macros for whole cake: 1497kcal, 163,2P, 120.6C, 40.1F

Leave a comment